Wot… No Posts?

Yes. My handful of regular readers will doubtless be wondering what I’m playing at. Why has my regular blogging habit dissipated of late? I’m not really sure what is going on myself, but I’ll tell you what I know.

There are three main requirements to blogging. You need to have:

  1. something to write about
  2. time to write it
  3. a clear idea of what it is you want to say

I am fully equipped on items 1 and 2, in that I have plenty of thoughts that I’d like to share and am not short of time. My problem is with No. 3. I think about blogging every day but, as you will have seen, this seldom progresses to actual writing. My thoughts about what I want to say and how I want to say it are not clear.

Of course anyone can create a blog and post stuff on a daily basis, but the internet is full of vacuous, shallow blogs about nothing in particular that the writers just use as a brain dump, and I don’t want to fall into that category. Because I want to produce writing of a certain quality I need to devote more time to it and , more importantly, more organised thinking, and it this that I seem to be missing at the moment. If you don’t really know what you want to say then your blog posts tend to be stream-of-consciousness babble (rather like this), and like I say, there’s enough of that about without my adding to it.

So that’s the state of play. I’m getting on with life, but continually thinking about writing without actually writing anything is very frustrating.

I do have one piece of news, but given the recent dearth of content here I’ll put that in another entry, just so you feel you’re getting a bit more attention.

About Chris Neal

Personal Technology Consultant. Tailored services and advice for people who want more from their technology.
This entry was posted in Information, Rants, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

