At It Again

Still mentally kicking myself for getting snapped by a traffic camera going through the lights when they were at amber. I like to think I’m one of the more careful, considerate, law-abiding road users out there; particularly when I’m on the scooter for safety’s sake. But nobody’s perfect and I do slip occasionally, and it seems that when I do I always get caught.

Another official-looking piece of post arrived today, which turned out to be another fixed penalty notice. This time I was filmed riding down a road that was not open to motor vehicles.

The Evidence

In my defence this was in an area I didn’t know, and I’d never seen this road before. I was just riding along and decided to turn down here on my way home. I didn’t see the signs until I was level with them and by then it was too late. So by the time I realised that I’d done something wrong there was no point stopping and turning around, so I carried on.

It’s beginning to feel like there isn’t a square inch of London that isn’t covered by CCTV. Quite reassuring when I’m walking down a dark alley alone but very annoying when one makes a simple mistake on the road.

The fine (no penalty points this time) is £120, or £60 if paid within 28 days. I went to their website this afternoon to make the online payment, but the site was down, preventing me from paying my fine.

I wonder if I can fine them for that so that we cancel each other out?

About Chris Neal

Personal Technology Consultant. Tailored services and advice for people who want more from their technology.
This entry was posted in Rants, Two wheels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At It Again

  1. me says:

    what not working at 3:30 in the afternoon or was it a pizza delivery so I guess you are 😉

Leave a Reply

