Happiness Is A Yellow Hornet

Today I waved a teary goodbye to my scooter and began a passionate relationship with my new bike. Say Hello to The Hornet!

My new Hornet

My new Hornet

The Hornet is a 600cc “naked” motorcycle: naked meaning it doesn’t have a fairing around the front like racing bikes. Riding it is a totally different experience from what I’m used to with the scooter. There is much more power obviously, and the controls: throttle, gears and brakes are all much more sensitive, responsive and have a tighter feel. Despite all that the bike is physically hardly any bigger than the scooter, but the riding experience is in a different league. The bike feels light, agile, easy to maneouvre and feels very stable. I’m taking things very easy while I get used to handling it, but I already feel safer and more confident on the streets than I did before. I can feel that the brakes work better, the tyres grip harder, and the suspension handles the bumps more smoothly.

So what’s the catch? The only downside really is storage-related. The scooter had an under-seat compartment which could carry either two helmets or a load of shopping, and I’m missing that compartment already. Now if I ride to the supermarket I have to carry everything home on my back, but that really is a small price to pay.

If I don’t blog much for the next week, you know the reason why!

About Chris Neal

Personal Technology Consultant. Tailored services and advice for people who want more from their technology.
This entry was posted in Diary, Two wheels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happiness Is A Yellow Hornet

  1. really liked your blog. Thanks for sharing this post!

Leave a Reply

