Bite Me!

Had a bad night last night. I couldn’t sleep for itching and wondering if the mosquito in the bedroom was real or a dream. I’ve got several bites anyway so the itching was real enough, but lying there in the dark I was slowly convincing myself that somehow one had got in and was having a midnight feast at my expense.

At 7am when we woke I sat up and turned on the light, and almost immediately saw a large mosquito on the sheet next to me. Instinctively I went to swat it with my hand and scored a direct hit. Its little body burst under my hand, smearing the white sheet with an inch long red skidmark of my own blood.

I felt avenged. Now all I have to do is explain the mark to the maid, in Portuguese.

We do have a mosquito net for over the bed but have not yet gotten around to getting a hook fixed to the ceiling from which to hang it. That little job just moved up my to-do list.

As I write this I have to keep stopping to scratch. I hope by now you’re scratching too.

About Chris Neal

Personal Technology Consultant. Tailored services and advice for people who want more from their technology.
This entry was posted in Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

