Windows Problem

(It’s not what you think)

I was tidying up the Downloads folder on my iMac yesterday, and had CMD-clicked around thirty files in preparation for dragging them to the Trash, when on the last one my index finger had an involuntary spasm and double-clicked. Mac OS X took this aberration as instruction from me to open all said files and this was the result:

That's a lot of Windows for a Mac!

Once this particular Pandora’s Box had been opened there was no stopping it, so I just had to sit there and watch, wondering whether the computer would lose the presentation I was working on or just run out of memory and hang.

Neither happened, in fact my paltry 2Gb of RAM did a rather dignified job of handling the mess I’d thrown at it, and once the dust had settled and I’d quit the ten applications I hadn’t intended to run, things returned to normal.

I feel my index finger deserves to be punished for its errant behaviour. Perhaps I’ll stick it somewhere dark and unpleasant — that’ll teach it!

About Chris Neal

Personal Technology Consultant. Tailored services and advice for people who want more from their technology.
This entry was posted in Ageing, Technology, What The Hell? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Windows Problem

  1. Sajib says:

    Right now, windows is my second choice as an OS. I prefer Ubuntu for its fastness, cleanness, and stability.

  2. Tom Hartman says:

    That last part was an image that I will never get out of my head.

  3. Adrian says:

    When did 2G become paltry? my first hard drive was only 5G…I remember when this was all fields …

Leave a Reply

